Cincinnati, Ohio

There was love, peace and happiness on my side One man with me for twenty years, just my kind He had purposed to me three times all of which I said no Not knowing that time was running out for us as we go He became ill with high blood pressure and then had a stroke I had everything I needed but when he died he left me broke I went from the house, to the car and even the pool in the back To being homeless, eating trash and even smoking crack I tried living with people I knew back when times were good It would never last being a outcast and so misunderstood I tried homeless shelters with beds and eating solid food But shelters have curfews I was not for following the rule I found myself all alone hungry and sleeping in the street I lost everything, only the clothes on my back could I keep My grief for the lost of my man had turn to sorrow for myself I knew there was a lesson in this hand I had been dealt I started to pray and read the Bible all of the time Asking god to help me to soothe my aching mind I began to find strength with new feelings and new ideas I stopped smoking crack, drinking and got my head clear I went to a shelter for homeless addicts and prostitutes I found strength to bite my tongue and do what I had to do I went to A.A. and N.A. meetings and talked out loud To hear my story let me know the change was in the clouds I finally graduated and was able to rent my own room Got a job, got healthy and my spirit went up to the moon I started talking to the Lord in pray and song everyday And he turned my sorrow into a gift of life I’m proud to say So to have sorrow or feel pity on oneself all of the time Will take you nowhere but that wrong and narrow line You must look up and recognize where you need to be going And ask God to help you understand what it is you’re sowing Just remember a gift of sorrow can be a very powerful lesson And as long as you have faith and believe in god’s word can You then receive God’s blessings

“I love for people to read my poems.  I hope there’s something people can get from them.  This one is my favorite.  It is called ‘A Gift of Sorrow.’  
‘There was love, peace and happiness on my side
One man with me for twenty years, just my kind
He had proposed to me three times all of which I said no
Not knowing that time was running out for us as we go
He became ill with high blood pressure and then had a stroke
I had everything I needed but when he died he left me broke
I went from the house, to the car and even the pool in the back
To being homeless, eating trash and even smoking crack
I tried living with people I knew back when times were good
It would never last being a outcast and so misunderstood
I tried homeless shelters with beds and eating solid food
But shelters have curfews I was not for following the rule
I found myself all alone hungry and sleeping in the street
I lost everything, only the clothes on my back could I keep
My grief for the lost of my man had turn to sorrow for myself
I knew there was a lesson in this hand I had been dealt
I started to pray and read the Bible all of the time
Asking god to help me to soothe my aching mind
I began to find strength with new feelings and new ideas
I stopped smoking crack, drinking and got my head clear
I went to a shelter for homeless addicts and prostitutes
I found strength to bite my tongue and do what I had to do
I went to A.A. and N.A. meetings and talked out loud
To hear my story let me know the change was in the clouds
I finally graduated and was able to rent my own room
Got a job, got healthy and my spirit went up to the moon
I started talking to the Lord in pray and song everyday
And he turned my sorrow into a gift of life I’m proud to say
So to have sorrow or feel pity on oneself all of the time
Will take you nowhere but that wrong and narrow line
You must look up and recognize where you need to be going
And ask God to help you understand what it is you’re sowing
Just remember a gift of sorrow can be a very powerful lesson
And as long as you have faith and believe in god’s word can
You then receive God’s blessings.'”

Leave a Reply

