Old Washington, Kentucky

"I grew up here.  When we started out we had 300 people.  Blacks on that side of the street and whites on this one.  Now we've got 13,000 people.  It is all whites.  There's only one black family left here.  Things have really changed. It is a historic district now.  It makes it really difficult.  You can't even put up a new door in your house unless they approve it.  And you have to pay for it, too.  Last winter my roof was leaking.  It was leaking on all of my antique furniture and they wouldn't let me redo it.  They made me go to a city council meeting and make a presentation to get it approved.  Finally, I got a roof.  I miss the old days."

“I grew up here. When we started out we had 300 people. Blacks on that side of the street and whites on this one. Now we’ve got 13,000 people. It is all whites. There’s only one black family left here. Things have really changed. It is a historic district now. It makes it really difficult. You can’t even put up a new door in your house unless they approve it. And you have to pay for it, too. Last winter my roof was leaking. It was leaking on all of my antique furniture and they wouldn’t let me redo it. They made me go to a city council meeting and make a presentation to get it approved. Finally, I got a roof. I miss the old days.”

Leave a Reply

