Maysville, Kentucky

"Well, I'd just say we'd make a flower bed.  I don't really know how I came up with that- it just kind of came to my head.  But yeah.  That's what I would think we should do.  We'd plant roses... hydrangeas..." The woman to her right chimed in, "And tullips!"  "Yes. And tullips!  And how would I get people there?  Well, I'd just ask them.  And if they wouldn't want to, then that's their problem.  We'd also talk about slavery.  Plant flowers and talk about slavery.  Yes.  Because that's something we've got to be talking about.  How they were all up in chains. And beaten. And owned by another human.  It is something a lot of the young people today don't remember.  Just the other day we had a big shooting here.  They took the bullet out and he's going to be okay- but we need to remember our history and start getting these kids into the church again."

What should be today’s ‘Underground Railroad’ movement? “Well, I’d just say we’d make a flower bed. I don’t really know how I came up with that- it just kind of came to my head. But yeah. That’s what I would think we should do. We’d plant roses… hydrangeas…” The woman to her right chimed in, “And tulips!”  “Yes. And tulips! And how would I get people there? Well, I’d just ask them. And if they wouldn’t want to, then that’s their problem. We’d also talk about slavery. Plant flowers and talk about slavery. Yes. This is just coming to me now.  …Because that’s something we’ve got to be talking about. How they were all up in chains. And beaten. And owned by another human. It is something a lot of the young people today don’t remember. Just the other day we had a big shooting here.  Violence is a problem. They took the bullet out and he’s going to be okay- but we need to remember our history and start getting these kids into the church again. I’ve also never been to the Underground Railroad Museum here in Maysville, but I reckon I should go and see it one of these days.”

Leave a Reply

