Gertrude, Kentucky

What should be today's "Underground Railroad" movement? “I’ve been a farmer out here for all of my life and something we need to figure out is renewable energy.  I’ve tried it all.  When Kentucky made the commitment to make 25% renewable energy by 2025, they told me to start growing switch grass. We tried it.  I didn’t necessarily believe in it, but I’m always up for something new. It was not economical. Instead of coal, they tried to put a gas line through here. It was all ready to go in and then some nuns down in Southern Kentucky protested against it.  They stopped the whole operation. They told us we should be using ‘renewable energy,’ like windmills and not digging up the ground. So the farmer down the road tried to put in a windmill farm.  Then some other group protested against it, and they had to stop that. We’ve also got oil fracking around here- and there’s problems with that. Then there’s that algae thing… Now there’s a dam they want to put up on the river so we can start doing hydroelectric. Now that’s the way I think we should be going. What people don’t understand is that renewable energy costs more.  The federal government is subsidizing us to do it, but then they change to something else. And then to something else. They’ve got to work out the technology first.  Tell me what to do, and I’ll do it.  But make sure it makes financial sense for me. And what happens when those subsidies are gone and we aren’t breaking even?  I don’t know where people think their electricity is coming from- but its got to come from somewhere and there’s going to be a cost. Economical, cancer from coal trains… lots of costs. But do you want trains hauling fuel or do want a hidden pipeline under the ground? These are questions we need to be asking ourselves.”

What should be today’s “Underground Railroad” movement? “I’ve been a farmer out here for all of my life and something we need to figure out is renewable energy. Instead of coal, they tried to put a gas line through here. It was all ready to go in and then some nuns down in Southern Kentucky protested against it. They stopped the whole operation. They told us we should be using ‘renewable energy,’ like windmills and not digging up the ground. So the farmer down the road tried to put in a windmill farm. Then some other group protested against it, and they had to stop that. We’ve tried it all. When Kentucky made the commitment to make 25% renewable energy by 2025, they told me to start growing switchgrass. We tried it. I didn’t necessarily believe in it, but I’m always up for something new.  So I did it.  I planted all my fields, put in the infrastructure. But it was not economical.  We’ve also got oil fracking around here- and there’s problems with that. Then there’s that algae thing… Now there’s a dam they want to put up on the river so we can start doing hydroelectric. Now that’s the way I think we should be going. What people don’t understand is that renewable energy costs more. The federal government is subsidizing us to do it, but then they change to something else. And then to something else. They’ve got to work out the technology first. Tell me what to do, and I’ll do it. But make sure it makes financial sense for me. And what happens when those subsidies are gone and we aren’t breaking even? I don’t know where people think their electricity is coming from- but its got to come from somewhere and there’s going to be a cost. Economical, cancer from coal trains… lots of costs. But do you want trains hauling fuel or do want a hidden pipeline under the ground? These are questions we need to be asking ourselves.”

Leave a Reply

