Dry Ridge, Kentucky

“My biggest struggle was letting my son go.  He graduated from high school and I didn’t realize how strong of feelings of loss I could have felt as a father.  That day I left him at the air force academy- it was such a sense of loss. While it has gotten much better- I’ve focused my energies on my younger son and my wife- it was a very big thing for me at that point in time. I knew that it would be difficult for his mother, but as I father I had no idea how much it would test me.  Here is this small boy who you have raised from a baby, his whole life… leaving you.  It is better now, but at that point in time, it was a big struggle for me.”

“My biggest struggle was letting my son go. He graduated from high school and I didn’t realize how strong of feelings of loss I could have felt as a father. That day I left him at the air force academy- it was such a sense of loss. While it has gotten much better- I’ve focused my energies on my younger son and my wife- it was a very big thing for me at that point in time. I knew that it would be difficult for his mother, but as father I had no idea how much it would test me. Here is this person who you have raised from a baby, his whole life, and love so much… leaving you. It is better now, but at that point in time, it was a big struggle for me.”

Leave a Reply

