Henderson, Kentucky

“Both of our Mothers are gone now….  But. Stability.  I appreciated the stability my mom gave me.  I always had someone to talk to and be there for me.”   “I think of my mom every day. She passed away in 2000.  In fact, everything reminds me of her. Like driving down the road, listening to the radio….” “Tell her about the Poptarts.”  “Right. Like Poptarts. When I was eight my mom used to make me tea, really weak tea, and I always had it with a Poptart.  But it was with Poptart flavor that since then has gone out of stock. Chocolate Vanilla Cream.  Anyways, a few weeks ago I saw an advertisement for the 50th Anniversary of Kellogs Poptarts, and after 45 years, they are bringing back the Chocolate Vanilla Cream flavor.  They aren’t selling any of them up here, so my wife went down to Florida and bought four packages. Every time I eat one, I remember her.”  He came over a bit little and gave me a bit scribbled on the back of a receipt. He said he had thought about what he appreciated most. “Her simplw, non-pretentious down to earth caring ways.  And her non-selfish and giving way of life.  I miss her dearly.”

Humans & Their Mothers on Dia de las Madres: “Both of our Mothers are gone now…. But. Stability. I appreciated the stability my mom gave me. I always had someone to talk to and be there for me. I miss that.”
“I think of my mom every day. She passed away in 2000. In fact, everything reminds me of her. Like driving down the road, listening to the radio…” … “Tell her about the Poptarts.” “Right. Like Poptarts. When I was eight my mom used to make me tea, really weak tea, and I always had it with a Poptart. But I always ate this one Poptart flavor that since then has gone out of stock. Chocolate Vanilla Cream. Anyways, a few weeks ago I saw an advertisement for the 50th Anniversary of Kellogs Poptarts, and after 45 years, they are bringing back the Chocolate Vanilla Cream flavor. They aren’t selling any of them up here, so my wife went down to Florida and bought four packages. Every time I eat one, I remember her.” He came over a bit later and gave me a note scribbled on the back of a receipt. He said he had thought about what he appreciated most. “Her simple, non-pretentious down to earth caring ways. And her non-selfish and giving way of life. I miss her dearly.”

Leave a Reply

