Visitor Center & Planetarium, @ Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area, Tennessee

"As as astronomer and director here, the biggest thing I think we need to do for future generations is advocacy.  As an astronmer, my soapbox is light pollution.  There's all kinds of pollution we can confront, but light pollution is one of those that people tend not to think about.  And it is something people and communities can take simple steps to alleviate.  It has all kinds of effects on the environment, birds' migratory patterns, insects, and even our flora and plants.  Every lecture I give, I always spend about eight minutes on it.  Every conversation I have- I find a way to weave it in.  Maybe I'm doing something... maybe I'm not.  It's just something I'm passionate about, so I'm going to keep on talking about it."

“As as astronomer and director here, the biggest thing I think we need to do for future generations is advocacy. As an astronomer, my soapbox is light pollution. There’s all kinds of pollution we can confront, but light pollution is one of those that people tend not to think about. And it is something people and communities can take simple steps to alleviate. It has all kinds of effects on the environment, birds’ migratory patterns, insects, and even our flora and plants. I was also a mayor of a small community for four years.  I know how much it costs for electricity and lighting, just for a town of 3000.  It is a lot.  Every lecture I give, I always spend about eight minutes on it. Every conversation I have- I find a way to weave it in. Maybe I’m doing something… maybe I’m not. It’s just something I’m passionate about, so I’m going to keep on talking about it.”

Leave a Reply

