Near Dover, Tennessee

“I used to work on the farm, but I kept on finding all of these artifacts when I was out farming.  Bullets, buttons, horse bridles… and after my divorce, I decided to buy myself a metal detector.  I’ve done archeological digs all around here and I began getting really interested in Captain Jack Hinson (1807-1874). So instead of the old kind of working thing- I opened up this museum.  You’ve got to find what makes you come alive.  This was it for me.  I’m just a stupid country boy, but doctors, lawyers and people with all sorts of degrees come here to learn from me.  And you know what- they tend to think I’m pretty smart.  Learning history and sharing it with others- there’s nothing more that gives satisfaction to my mind.  We’ve got to learn our history.  I’ll teach and talk to anyone.  I’m a Yank.  But it doesn’t matter if you are from the South or the North- I’ll tell you everything I know.  A black history teacher came in here once and was real timid at first.  There’s not many black folk around here.  He wouldn’t even walk in my door.  But we got talking for hours and he asked me why white folk treat them the way they do.  I told him I didn’t know.  After a while, he told me I should be a history teacher to make sure our kids are learning the real kind of history.  I told him I already was.  I teach every day.  This here is my school- this museum.”

“I used to work on the farm, but I kept on finding all of these artifacts when I was out farming. Bullets, buttons, horse bridles… and after my divorce, I decided to buy myself a metal detector. I’ve done archeological digs all around here and I began getting really interested in Captain Jack Hinson (1807-1874). So instead of the old kind of working thing- I opened up this museum. You’ve got to find what makes you come alive. This was it for me. I’m just a stupid country boy, but doctors, lawyers and people with all sorts of degrees come here to learn from me. And you know what- they tend to think I’m pretty smart. Learning history and sharing it with others- there’s nothing more that gives satisfaction to my mind. We’ve got to learn our history. I’ll teach and talk to anyone. I’m a Yank. But it doesn’t matter if you are from the South or the North- I’ll tell you everything I know. A black history teacher came in here once and was real timid at first. There’s not many black folk around here. He wouldn’t even walk in my door. But we got talking for hours and he asked me why white folk treat them the way they do. I told him I didn’t know. After a while, he told me I should be a history teacher to make sure our kids are learning the real kind of history. I told him I already was. I teach every day. This here is my school- this museum.”

Leave a Reply

