Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area, Kentucky

"There has been a lot of removal here. First the government drove the Native Americans  from this area, then a community of 700 lived here, and through eminent domain, they removed them as well.   And then they established the Land Between the Lakes Recreation Area.  Don't get me wrong- I don't think these were all good decisions, and I certainly don't like having the federal government as a big part of my life, but if we don't set places like this aside or have someone step in- I don't know how we will keep places like this.  There are so many people.  We will eventually just inhabit everything."

“To create this area here-there has been a lot of removal. First the government drove out the Native Americans, then years later a community of 700 lived here, and through eminent domain, they removed them as well. And then they established the Land Between the Lakes Recreation Area. Don’t get me wrong- I don’t think these were all good decisions, and I certainly don’t like having the federal government as a big part of my life, but if we don’t set places like this aside or have someone step in- I don’t know how we will keep places like this. There are so many people. We will eventually just inhabit everything.”

Leave a Reply

