Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area, Kentucky

"We are both on our second marriage.  She was a girl scout leader and after I met her I decided my daughters should try out girl scouts.  They told me, 'Dad- you just want to come to our girl scout meetings cause you think our leader is cute.'  Two years later we were married.  We were crazy about each other.  We opened a medical supply business and when we kept our focus on our customers, it was fullfilling and went really well.  But then we started focusing on the money, and got into partying and drinking.  We were having a great time.  But we were drinking too much.  We realized soon that we were alcoholics."  "At one point I tired to end things on the middle of the national forest on a matteress in the back of a truck, and a bottle full of my anti-depressant pills.  But I remember God waking me up and having my kids there in my ear telling me that they needed me. And that they needed me to get up. I got up.  But after that we went through a divorce and lost each other.  After lots of self work, we got back together and could not be more in love.  We are both sober now.  Then one day earler this year I woke up and was like, 'What do we need with all this stuff? What are we doing?' So we sold everything, including our house and set out a week ago in this van- just the two of us. We're just begginning- but I'm pretty sure this is the way people were meant to live."   "My mom, she's 94 years old.  And if it was up to her, she's be out traveling every day of her life.  But my dad, he won't have any of it  So she stays there with him.  We are so lucky we found each other and that we both want to take the leap into something like this."

“We are both on our second marriage. She was a girl scout leader and after I met her I decided my daughters should try out girl scouts. They told me, ‘Dad- you just want to come to our girl scout meetings ’cause you like our leader.’ Two years later we were married. We were crazy about each other. We opened a medical supply business and when we kept our focus on our customers, it was fulfilling and went really well. But then we started focusing on the money, and got into partying and drinking. We were having a great time. But we were drinking too much. To the point we realized we had a problem. Things got really bad.” …. “At one point I tried to end my life in the middle of the national forest on a mattress in the back of a truck, and a bottle full of my anti-depressant pills. But I remember God waking me up and having my kids there in my ear telling me that they needed me. And that they needed me to get up. I got up. But after that we went through a divorce and lost each other. After lots self work on both our parts and once we both got sober we were able to get┬áback together and could not be more in love. Then earlier this year I woke up one morning and was like, ‘What do we need with all this stuff? What are we doing?’ So we sold everything, including our house. We set out a week ago in this van- just the two of us. We’re just beginning- but I’m pretty sure this is the way people were meant to live.” …”My mom, she’s 94 years old. And if it was up to her, she’d be out traveling every day of her life. But my dad, he won’t have any of it. So she stays there with him. We are so lucky we found each other and that we both want to take the leap into something like this.”

Leave a Reply

