At the Home Place, working history farm, @ Land Between the Lakes National Recreation Area, Tennessee

"To get my kids interested in history, I tell them stories.  About our tables, chairs... and now they are asking me about the stories.  That what I want them to remember- the stories.  Like this old heater of my grandma's.  When she passed away, I didn't want it for practical reasons.  I wanted it because I remember when I was a little girl, sitting up there to get all warm and my brothers rolling up my pants to try and burn my legs.  That's what history is about.  The stories."

“To get my kids interested in history, I tell them stories. About our tables, chairs… and now they are asking me about the stories. That’s what I want them to remember- the stories. Like this old heater of my grandma’s. When she passed away, I didn’t want it for practical reasons. I wanted it because I remember when I was a little girl, sitting up there to get all warm and my brothers rolling up my pants to try and burn my legs. That’s what history is about. The stories.”

Leave a Reply

