Columbus, Mississippi

“We had an F2 hit down here and an F4 hit down in Louisville.  They got the worst of it. I had a roofer put on new high definition shingles on my house last year.  He told me that once the heat started up, the shingles would settle down and we could withstand 130 MPG winds.  It sure did.  The tornado came down right on top of my house.  I was out in the breezeway right there and saw the rain start coming sideways.  I was it was coming.  I ran inside and told everyone to get into the hallway.  We brought in pillows and blankets and hunkered down.  We luckily just had a six inch branch come through the window.  Lots of others around us had their roofs come off,  trees uproot, and cars crushed… I think we were getting plenty of prayers though ‘cause we didn’t have a single fatality.”

“We had an F2 hit down here and an F4 hit down in Louisville. They got the worst of it. I had a roofer put on new high definition shingles on my house last year. He told me that once the heat started up, the shingles would settle down and we could withstand 130 MPH winds. It sure did. The tornado came down right on top of my house. I was out in the breezeway right there and saw the rain start coming sideways. At that point, I knew it was coming. I ran inside and told everyone to get into the hallway. We brought in pillows and blankets and hunkered down. We luckily only had a six inch branch come through the window. Lots of others around us had their roofs come off, trees uproot, and cars crushed… I think we were getting plenty of prayers headed our way though ‘cause we didn’t have a single fatality.”

wpid-img_20140501_1051222.jpg.jpeg

Tornado damage across the street.

Leave a Reply

