Aliceville, Alabama

Aww, my daughter here, everybody that she meets she goes up and hugs ‘em.  I have to get on her because I’ve told her that not everybody likes to be hugged.  She’s got a little too much love.  I’m 87 years old and she is 51 and she lives in her own little mobile home next to my house.  I go out there and sleep with her every night, but she’s got her own little life out there.  “I love channel 16, Lifetime.  They’ve got really good movies.”  After she graduated from high school, she stayed home with me for about two months, but then came to me and told me she wanted to get out and do something.  So 36 years ago we fundraised and fundraised to build a school for all of the kids who have handicaps or disabilities after they graduate from high school.  There wasn’t anything for them at that point. My Lord we sold hams, and quilts and Boston Butts, and I took 750 off my earnings each month to build that place.  We got a big donation from a local woman who had a lot of money, too. Finally, we built it.  We’ve got about 30 students from around the county and two little buses that pick them up each day for school.  We keep it going using the Medicare and Medicaid they each get from the government. Otherwise, I don’t know how we’d keep it going. They do all sorts of games, projects, cooking and engaging things together in the school.  “Yeah, I crochet.  I like making potholders for people for all those principle holidays.” She said it didn’t take her long at all to learn.  “I learned really fast.” They also do a lot of community projects. Like this store here, they come and wash windows for them.  They have them doing all sorts of good community things.

Mother: “Aww, my daughter here, everybody that she meets she goes up and hugs ‘em. I have to get on her because I’ve told her that not everybody likes to be hugged. She’s got a little too much love. I’m 87 years old and she is 51 and she lives in her own little mobile home next to my house. I go out there and sleep with her every night, but she’s got her own little life out there.” Daughter: “I love channel 16, Lifetime. They’ve got really good movies.” Mother: “After she graduated from high school, she stayed home with me for about two months, but then came to me and told me she wanted to get out and do something. So 36 years ago we fundraised and fundraised to build a school for all of the kids who have handicaps or disabilities after they graduate from high school. There wasn’t anything for them at that point. My Lord we sold hams, and quilts and Boston Butts, and I took 750 off my earnings each month to build that place. We got a big donation from a local woman who had a lot of money, too. Finally, we built it. We’ve got about 30 students from around the county and two little buses that pick them up each day for school. We keep it going using the Medicare and Medicaid they each get from the government. Otherwise, I don’t know how we’d keep it going. They do all sorts of games, projects, cooking and engaging things together in the school.” Daughter: “Yeah, I crochet. I like making potholders for people for all those principle holidays.” She said it didn’t take her long at all to learn. “I learned really fast.”  Mother: “They also do a lot of community projects. Like this store here, they come and wash windows for them. They have them doing all sorts of good community things.”

Leave a Reply

