Aliceville, Alabama

"I was a school bus driver for a while- hated that.  Worked for a store- hated that.  Worked for an insurance company- hated that.  Then someone asked me to work for Weyerhaeuser, and I worked there for 25 years until the company closed down a little while back.  Then I got this job were at the library through the Senior Aid Program and I've been here for five years.  It is not much pay, but it is my dream job.  I tell you if I could have had this job my whole life, I would have.  The people- I could do without.  But the books...  I read about seven to 12 a week.  At home I have over 700 paperbacks and 300 hardbacks. I've read them all- most of them two or three times.  I just love to read."

“I was a school bus driver for a while- hated that. Worked for a store- hated that. Worked for an insurance company- hated that. Then someone asked me to work for Weyerhaeuser, and I worked there for 25 years until the company closed down a little while back. Then I got this job at the library through the Senior Aid Program and I’ve been here for five years. It is not much pay, but it is my dream job. I tell you if I could have had this job my whole life, I would have. The people- I could do without. But the books… I read about seven to 12 a week. At home I have over 700 paperbacks and 300 hardbacks. I’ve read them all- most of them two or three times. I just love to read.”

Leave a Reply

