Grand Bay, Alabama

“Texas was a strange state. One day I came across this big group of people in a field. They were having a rib and baked bean contest and told me they were in a need of a judge. The judges got free beer. I spent a whole day eating beans and ribs and drinking beer. It was glorious. Then there was this one night where I asked this guy to camp in his backyard on the border of Texas and Mexico. In the middle of the night I woke up to three helicopters hovering over my tent with big lights coming down on me. I didn’t come out, afraid they’d shoot me. The next morning I knocked on the guy’s door to say thanks. He walked out in a border patrol uniform. He told me he was on the copter crew and that he had called up his buddies last night to try out their infrared on me. He said they couldn’t find me.” Biking from California to Florida.

“Texas was a strange state. One day I came across this big group of people in a field. They were having a rib and baked bean contest and told me they were in a need of a judge. The judges got free beer. I spent a whole day eating beans and ribs and drinking beer. It was glorious. Then there was this one night where I asked this guy to camp in his backyard on the border of Texas and Mexico. In the middle of the night I woke up to three helicopters hovering over my tent with big lights coming down on me. I didn’t come out, afraid they’d shoot me. The next morning I knocked on the guy’s door to say thanks. He walked out in a border patrol uniform. He told me he was on the copter crew and that he had called up his buddies last night to try out their infrared on me. He said they couldn’t find me.” Biking from California to Florida.

Leave a Reply

