Near Bayou Savage Reserve in Louisiana

“I’m a Louisiana boy. I got two degrees in urban planning and engineering but it is too hard to stay in a place and use those things. So I haven’t used my education much. I’ve been working for the Fish & Wildlife Service for a long time.  I’m close to nature, but when nature wants to do her thing, there ain’t no stopping her.  When Katrina went through her decisions weren’t very clear. Some houses wouldn’t have a shingle missing, while others were taken out entirely. My momma’s and my house made it through Camille, George and Ivan, but Katrina’s wind patterns were different.  We left to go up north that day, and when we came back, just like so many people here,  our house was gone and I’ve been rebuilding it since.  But without my momma.  She’s gone now.  I’m single… old and single.  But you know, that’s life. Mother nature sometimes doesn’t give no reason about how she chooses and there ain’t no bit of education that will weasel your way out of that. You just have to keep on going.” When I asked if he would be comfortable with me putting his picture up on a blog he told me he was a marked and private person and that the government’s face tracking recognition technology these days was too good. He told me to take a picture of the alligators and snapping turtles instead so I wouldn’t forget what they looked like out on the road.

“I’m a Louisiana boy. I got two degrees in urban planning and engineering but it is too hard to stay in a place and use those things. So I haven’t used my education much. I’ve been working for the Fish & Wildlife Service for a long time. I’m close to nature, but when nature wants to do her thing, there ain’t no stopping her. When Katrina went through her decisions weren’t very clear. Some houses wouldn’t have a shingle missing, while others were taken out entirely. My momma’s and my house made it through Camille, George and Ivan, but Katrina’s wind patterns were different. We left to go up north that day, and when we came back, just like so many people here, our house was gone and I’ve been rebuilding it since. But without my momma. She’s gone now. I’m single… old and single. But you know, that’s life. Mother nature sometimes doesn’t give no reason about how she chooses and there ain’t no bit of education that will weasel your way out of that. You just have to keep on going.” When I asked if he would be comfortable with me putting his picture up on a blog he told me he was a marked and private person and that the government’s face tracking recognition technology these days was too good. He told me to take a picture of the alligators and snapping turtles instead so I wouldn’t forget what they looked like out on the road.

Leave a Reply

